County Resident Paper Shredding Events

The Division of Solid Waste sponsors free, monthly Paper Shredding Events for Calvert County residents to shred confidential or sensitive documents. There is no limit per resident. Papers from businesses will not be accepted. Proof of Calvert County residency is required at events. Certificates of destruction are available upon request. 

You can view all the special events in the 2019 special event brochure. Please contact the Recycling Coordinator if you have any questions.

When preparing papers to bring to the event, keep in mind the items listed below that may be accompanying the papers.

Accepted

  • Almost any kind of  dry paper
  • Paper clips
  • Staples
  • Wire spiral-bound items

Not Accepted

  • Binders
  • Hardback book binding (pages are fine, but not binding)
  • Binder clips
  • Plastic bags (Papers need to be removed from bags before they are shredded.)
  • Corrugated cardboard (Papers need to be removed from boxes before they are shredded. You may recycle your boxes separately at the shredding event.)

2019 Resident Paper Shredding Events

Time for all paper shredding events: 8 a.m. to  Noon, rain or shine

DateLocation
Saturday, January 26, 2019Northern High School
2950 Chaneyville Road, Owings
Saturday, February 23, 2019Huntingtown High School
4125 Solomons Island Road, Huntingtown
Saturday, March 23, 2019Appeal Landfill
401 Sweetwater Road, Lusby
Saturday, April 27, 2019Northern High School
2950 Chaneyville Road, Owings
Saturday, May 18, 2019Huntingtown High School
4125 Solomons Island Road, Huntingtown
Saturday, June 22, 2019Appeal Landfill
401 Sweetwater Road, Lusby
Saturday, July 27, 2019Northern High School
2950 Chaneyville Road, Owings
Saturday, August 24, 2019Huntingtown High School
4125 Solomons Island Road, Huntingtown
Saturday, September 21, 2019Appeal Landfill
401 Sweetwater Road, Lusby
Saturday, October 26, 2019Northern High School
2950 Chaneyville Road, Owings
Saturday, November 16, 2019Huntingtown High School
4125 Solomons Island Road, Huntingtown
Saturday, December 14, 2019Appeal Landfill
401 Sweetwater Road, Lusby