Sexual Assault Evidence Collection

A sexual assault forensic exam (SAFE or “rape
kit) collects evidence that may help in a criminal
case. Survivors have the right to an exam even if
they do not want to talk with law enforcement or
are not sure if they want to prosecute.Survivors
cannot be charged for exams and follow-up care
for 9o days after an axam. Exams are only
available at certain hospitals, see https://mcasa.
org/survivors/getting-medical-attention.

Law enforcement must offer to transport you
to the hospital for a SAFE without delay. It is
important to get a SAFE exam quickly and you
should go within 120 hours.

SAFE kits must be retained for 20 years and are
stored by law enforcement. Victims may request
information about kit results and law
enforcement must provide information within
30 days unless it would harm an investigation.
The SAFE provider can provide contact
information for the investigating agency. Victims
may ask to be notified before a kit is destroyed
and may request that it be stored longer. In
2018, Maryland is beginning a process of
testing old untested kits and is developing
policies regarding testing.

HIV, HepC & Sex Crimes

Sex crimes survivors can request emergency
testing to find out if the assailant is HIV+.
Medication is available to prevent HIV but it
must be taken within 72 hours of exposure.
Testing can also be performed to learn if the
assailant has Hepatitis C.

Sex Offenders Registry

Maryland has a sex offenders registry that
provides information about the address, age
and offenses committed by sex offenders. To be
on the registry, a person must be convicted in a
criminal case. To access the registry online visit
www.dpscs.state.md.us/sorSearch.

Survivors of sexual assault have rights in
the criminal justice system.

The Sexual Assault Legal Institute (SALI)
provides legal advice, representation and
referrals for survivors of sexual assault.

SALI is committed to
survivor-centered advocacy and respect
for client decision-making.

SALI also provides legal education,
technical assistance and information for
professionals working with survivors.

For more mformation, contact:

Sexual Assault Legal Institute

P.O. Box 8782, Silver Spring, Maryland 20907
301-565-2277 | 877-496-SALI
fax: 301-565-3619

For information on civil legal options see:
Identifying Legal Issues for
Victims of Sexual Assault: A Checklist for
Survivors

Preparation of this document was supported by grant number
#SARC-2019-0014, awarded by the Governor’s Office of Crime
Control and Prevention. The opinions, findings, and conclusions
expressed in this document are those of the author(s) and do not
necessarily represent the official positions or policies of the
Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention.
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Rape and sexual assault are crimes
and survivors have rights in the
criminal justice system. This brochure
is designed to give survivors an
overview of the criminal prosecution of
sexual assault crimes, sexual assault

evidence collection, and victim rights.

The criminal justice system only
addresses some of a survivor’s legal
needs. Other common legal issues
survivors face include safety,
employment, family law, financial
issues, housing, immigration,
privacy, or educational concerns.
These issues are addressed in a

separate brochure.

Maryland’s rape crisis centers provide
support, counseling, and advocacy.
The Sexual Assault Legal Institute
(SALI) has attorneys to help victims
with these and other legal issues re-

lated to sexual assault.

Call SALI at 301-565-2277 or
877-496-SALI for legal help or
visit mcasa.org to find your

local rape crisis center.
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Sex Crimes in Maryland

Sex crimes have different names depending on
what act occurred and the relationship between the
perpetrator and the survivor.

Rape involves crimes that include penetration.
Rape can involve any gender and any age. There are
two degrees of rape:

«  First degree rape involves penetration plus an
aggravating factor, such as using a weapon,
using strangulation, involving multiple
assailants, or committing the rape during the
course of a burglary.

+ Second degree rape includes penetration
without consent and using force or threat, it
also includes crimes involving a person’s
capacity to consent.

Sexual offense is a legal term for other sex crimes
based on fondling or, on age.

Resistance by Victim: Maryland law is clear:
victims never have to physically resist a sexual
assault.

Age: Itis a crime to sexually penetrate someone
under 16 or to fondle someone under 14, however,
criminal law also requires a four-year age
difference in most cases.

Relationship: Sexual relationships between
certain people are prohibited. This includes
between certain family members, teachers of
children, people taking care of children (such as
babysitters), corrections personnel and inmates,
and law enforcement and persons in their custody.

Capacity: It is a crime to sexually touch or
penetrate someone who is physically helpless, or
so intoxicated or cognitively impaired that they are
“substantially incapable” of resisting or knowing
what is happening.

Starting a Criminal Case

Reporting a Sex Crime

Victims or others can report a crime by calling
911, talking with police, or going the
commissioner’s office to file an “application for
statement of charges.” Victims are not required
to report a sex crime. In some cases involving
children or vulnerable people, however, other
adults must report the crime or suspected crime
or abuse.

Deadlines and Statutes of Limitations

Most sex crimes are felonies, so there is no
statute of limitation (in other words, no deadline)
for criminal prosecution. A few sex crimes must
be prosecuted within 1-3 years. Civil cases and
criminal injuries compensation claims have
shorter deadlines, 12 months to a few years.

Investigations

Sex crimes investigations happen where the
assault occurred and are typically handled by
specially trained detectives. Child victims are
often interviewed at “child advocacy centers”
where social workers and officers work together
to minimize trauma to children.

Attorneys in Criminal Cases

Criminal cases are brought by a prosecutor, called
an “assistant state’s attorney” against someone
accused of a sex crime. Prosecutors represent the
state, not the victim, and must consider a victim’s
wishes, but do not have to follow them. Crime
victims can have their own lawyers to advocate
for what they want. SALI and some rape crisis
centers can provide lawyers for sex crimes
Survivors.

Criminal Cases & Safety

Stay-Away Orders

Defendants in criminal cases are often released
on bail until their trial. The court should order
perpetrators of sexual assault to stay away from
the crime victim as a condition of release, and can
order other protections for the victim. Contact
the State’s Attorney Office or SALI for help find-
ing out if there is a stay-away order. It is a crime
to violate these orders.

Sex crimes survivors may also want to seek a
peace or protective order, but should talk with a
lawyer first.

Safety Planning

Rape crisis centers or crime victim rights
attorneys will help survivors create a safety plan.

Release Information

Victims may get notified by phone or email when
a defendant is released or transferred by

signing up at Victim Information and
Notification Everyday (VINE) online at
www.vinelink.com or by calling 1-866-634-8463.

Privacy & Criminal Cases

Criminal cases involving adult assailants are
public proceedings, but victims can protect their
names, addresses, and phone numbers. Victims
should specifically request this protection. This
may require a motion depending on the stage of
the case. Victim names should never be published
on the Court’s website.

Sexual Assault Legal Institute

Victim Rights

Maryland’s laws and constitution give crime
victims rights. Many of these rights are not
automatic — the crime victim must actively
request them, often in writing.

Crime victim rights include the:

Right to be treated with dignity, respect and
sensitivity by all parts of the criminal justice
system.

Right to notice about what is happening in
your case, the ability to be present at court
proceedings, and the right to be heard.

Right to file a victim impact statement.

Right to request restitution.

Duty of the prosecutor to consider a victim’s
wishes and inform victim of terms of any plea
agreement.

Right to take time off from work to testify.
Right to have property returned.

Right to notice of appeals and other post-trial
proceedings.

Right to notice about offender status change
or release.

Right to bring your own lawyer to enforce
crime victim rights.

File a
Crime Victim
Notification

Request Form
to protect your
rights as a victim.



